top of page
  • Writer's pictureAcey

Broken Dreams and Redirections



This topic is somehow heart-rending.


I know you are all filled with big dreams of getting something or becoming somebody... But the hindrances are strong. And all those dreams backed by impossibilities are starting to break in front of you.


I got plenty of broken aspirations, too. I wanted to achieve something for myself. I wanted to be somebody. But inevitable situations have just gotten in the way. Hence, I needed to prioritize. I came to a point where I would compare myself to people who are in the climax of making their dreams into reality. In my prayers, I would cry to God that my life sucks and I feel like having no direction anymore because my dreams are failing.


But what if, all the broken dreams that I have, is actually God’s redirection for my life?

It is said on Proverbs 16:1, “To man belongs the plans of the heart, but from the LORD comes the reply of the tongue.” Who couldn’t agree more? Definitely our selfish desires are filled to the brim that we are already blind to God’s blueprint for our lives. Nothing can be more frustrating than broken dreams, I truly know. But what if we only have to welcome God’s plan for us? He knows better. He has something in store for us that’s far beyond what we can ever dream of.


What if we just let things happen as it is right now? God could be telling us not to rush as He made everything beautiful in His own time. Perhaps, we only have to savor and enjoy the here and now and wait for whatever surprise life’s got for us.


It’s really hard to deal with anything that is broken. But sometimes, it may have to happen for us to become something new, and better. The same goes for our dreams. Perhaps, they must be broken to be replaced with what is really meant for us. Not everything will work out, but it doesn’t necessarily mean it’s the end of our life, too. Broken dreams are tough, but there is always beauty in the changes and in the breaking.


Now, I am starting to accept and just fully live according to what God has given me at the moment. I didn’t become somebody that I wanted to be, but I love who I am currently. And I know that as I remain faithful to His direction for me today, His blessings will just surprise me with more than I can ever ask or think of. And soon, all the wounds caused by broken dreams will begin to heal and be forgotten.





27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

A Higher Perspective

In this article, I am going to share my own reflections while sheltering in place.

bottom of page